The Niftiest

Best collagen supplements: 6 picks, compared and ranked

Every product below was read on its Amazon listing. One editor set the order by hand; the scores are his opinion, not a lab result.

How we rank

How the order was set: our editor ranked the products by hand on how clearly each states the collagen in a serving, sourcing and testing statements, value for the supply, and the depth of the Amazon review history. No algorithm, and no brand paid for its position.

What was researched: for every product we read its Amazon listing and recorded the collagen per serving and its types and source where stated, the servings per pack, and the star average and rating count. We did not test any product.

What the scores mean

Each score is our editor’s opinion on a 10-point scale of how well the product fits the typical reader of this page: a clearly stated amount of collagen per serving, honest terms, and a review history deep enough to trust. It is not a lab result or a customer-review average.

More grams per serving is a label fact, not evidence of a better result.

Transparency

Do you earn money from the links on this page? Yes. Every link on this page is an Amazon affiliate link created through Levanta that pays us a commission on qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays for a review or a ranking.

Why is Sports Research first? Because it states 10 g of Type I and III collagen per serving, is USDA Organic from grass-fed cows, and has 130,442 ratings, the most on this page. That is a label judgment, not a health claim.

What do the badges mean? Best Overall Pick is what we would point most people to. Value Pick is the option we would choose if price were the deciding factor. Premium Pick is the option we would choose if price were not the deciding factor.

How often is this page updated? We re-read every product listing and update this page when a product, a term or an offer changes.

What if something here is wrong? Email [email protected] and we will check it.

Transparency statement: Advertisers do NOT get to determine how they are ranked. We rank products independently by using independent and verifiable reviews and data points. We may earn a commission if you buy through any link on this page, but that does not influence our ranking.

  1. 01Sports Research organic collagen peptides tub
    Best Overall Pick

    Sports ResearchOrganic collagen peptides powder

    For: most people adding collagen to a drink.

    Sports Research’s USDA Organic powder gives 10 g of hydrolyzed Type I and III collagen per serving from grass-fed cows, 30 servings a tub, and the listing has 130,442 ratings.

    Trade-off: The skin and joint benefits on the listing are the brand’s “supports” claims, and 10 g a serving is half of BUBS’s 20 g.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • Per serving10 g hydrolyzed Type I and III collagen peptides
    • SourceGrass-fed cows; USDA Organic, non-GMO, gluten-free (listing title)
    • Supply10.58 oz, 30 servings
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.6 stars from 130,442 ratings

    Opens Sports Research collagen peptides on Amazon through our affiliate link.

  2. 02Physician's Choice collagen peptides bag
    Value Pick

    Physician’s ChoiceCollagen peptides powder

    For: a large bag for everyday use.

    Physician’s Choice’s hydrolyzed, grass-fed, pasture-raised collagen adds digestive enzymes and comes in a 35-serving bag.

    Trade-off: The listing text we read did not state grams of collagen per serving, so it is hard to compare with Sports Research’s 10 g or BUBS’s 20 g.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • FormulaHydrolyzed grass-fed, pasture-raised collagen peptides with digestive enzymes; 18 amino acids (brand wording)
    • Supply35 servings
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.4 stars from 53,764 ratings

    Opens Physician’s Choice collagen peptides on Amazon through our affiliate link.

  3. 03Youtheory Advanced Collagen tablets bottle

    YoutheoryAdvanced Collagen tablets, 6,000 mg

    For: people who would rather take tablets than mix a powder.

    Youtheory’s tablets provide 6,000 mg of hydrolyzed collagen with vitamin C per serving, 290 tablets for a 48-day supply, and the brand says each batch is third-party tested.

    Trade-off: 6,000 mg (6 g) per serving is less collagen than the powders, and a serving is several tablets a day.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • Per serving6,000 mg hydrolyzed collagen peptides plus vitamin C
    • Supply290 tablets, 48 days
    • Testing“Third-Party Tested”; made in Youtheory’s GMP-certified facility (brand wording)
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.6 stars from 47,456 ratings

    Opens Youtheory Advanced Collagen on Amazon through our affiliate link.

  4. 04Micro Ingredients multi collagen peptides bag

    Micro IngredientsMulti collagen peptides powder, 5 types

    For: someone who wants several collagen types in one scoop.

    Micro Ingredients lists up to 11 g of hydrolyzed collagen per serving from types I, II, III, V and X, from bovine, chicken, marine and eggshell-membrane sources, plus biotin, hyaluronic acid and vitamin C.

    Trade-off: Only 20 servings in the 8 oz bag, and the mixed sources (including marine and egg) matter if you avoid fish or eggs.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • Per servingUp to 11 g collagen peptides; types I, II, III, V and X; biotin, hyaluronic acid, vitamin C
    • SourcesBovine, chicken, marine and eggshell membrane (listing wording)
    • Supply8 oz, 20 servings
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.6 stars from 17,712 ratings

    Opens Micro Ingredients multi collagen on Amazon through our affiliate link.

  5. 05ForestLeaf collagen capsules bottle

    ForestLeafCollagen capsules, Types I, II and III

    For: someone who wants Type II collagen alongside I and III in a capsule.

    ForestLeaf combines all three types with hyaluronic acid and vitamin C, 240 capsules, made in the USA.

    Trade-off: The listing text we read did not state collagen per serving or capsules per serving, so it cannot be compared directly with the powders.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • FormulaHydrolyzed collagen Types I, II and III, hyaluronic acid, vitamin C
    • Supply240 capsules
    • MadeIn the USA (listing wording)
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.5 stars from 23,597 ratings

    Opens ForestLeaf collagen capsules on Amazon through our affiliate link.

  6. 06BUBS Naturals collagen peptides tub
    Premium Pick

    BUBS NaturalsCollagen peptides powder, 20 g a scoop

    For: someone who wants the most collagen per scoop.

    BUBS gives 20 g of hydrolyzed collagen peptides per scoop from grass-fed, pasture-raised cows, 28 servings in a 20 oz tub, and has the highest star average here (4.7).

    Trade-off: A much thinner review history (3,520 ratings) than the others on this page.

    These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.

    • Per serving20 g hydrolyzed collagen peptides
    • Supply20 oz, 28 servings
    • Where to buyAmazon
    • Amazon rating4.7 stars from 3,520 ratings

    Opens BUBS Naturals collagen peptides on Amazon through our affiliate link.

Collagen amounts, types and sources are the brands’ label statements. Prices and coupons change often, so check each listing for the current price.

Galen Schneider

About the editor

Galen Schneider is the founder of Nifty Marketing, LLC and the publisher of The Niftiest. He researches and ranks the products on this page from the brands’ own Amazon listings and labels; he has not used them.

Advertising disclosure — The Niftiest is published by Nifty Marketing, LLC and is reader-supported. Every product link on this page is an Amazon affiliate link created through Levanta, and we earn from qualifying purchases. No brand pays for a review or a ranking. The order and the scores are our editor’s opinion. Specifications and claims are the brands’ own, quoted from their Amazon listings; we have not tested any product. Prices, coupons and availability change often, so check each listing. These products are dietary supplements, not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and the FDA does not evaluate supplement claims. Talk to your clinician before adding one, especially if you take prescription medication or are pregnant or nursing.